For Developers: Update MSI without re-building it using MSI Explorer

Most of you may be quite familiar on how to create MSI or Setups for your applications. By using a Microsoft Installer, one can make sure all dependencies for running the application will be placed properly.

For.NET developers, Visual Studio presents lot of features in creating setup and deployment projects for your application. But, there are no built-in tools in Visual Studio to look into the MSI contents. Even if you make a small change in MSI, it requires rebuilding the entire Setup Project.

MSI Explorer lets you analyze the MSI and give the details of it along with capability of updating it without rebuilding it.

Features:

– It allows us to look into the contents of the MSI.
– It allows us to export the contents of the MSI.
– It allows us to update commonly changing properties without rebuilding it.
– Easy to use UI.
– Now, Updating an MSI is quite simple.

Visit Microsoft Technet for details and download.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Most what i read online is trash and copy paste but your posts are not alike. Keep it like this.

    Reply

  2. Fascinating information! I can’t believe I’ve finally found the information I’ve been searching for for so long. Thank you!

    Reply

  3. This good was really worthy, the article was completely awesome! non-stop writing.

    Reply

  4. I can’t believe your blog isn’t more popular. The information you give here would be useful to many people if you were only ranked better in Google. I found your site through a friend of mine or even I wouldn’t have came.

    Reply

  5. Love the blog here. Nice colors. I am definitely keeping up on the comments here. I hope to see more from you in the near future.

    Reply

  6. Hello. I just wanted to pop in and comment on the design of your blog. Don’t take this the wrong way, but it’s too loud. It’s doing way too much and it takes away from what youve got to say – which I think is really important.

    Reply

  7. I was chatting with my friend on MSN about this and I’ve got to say that I completely agree with the poster near the beginning. And on a side note, I really like the colors you used for your blog. What theme is this?

    Reply

  8. Love the blog here. Nice colors. I am definitely keeping up on the comments here. I hope to see more from you in the near future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

