Microsoft Exchange Server 2010 SP1: Test Lab Guide Released

Microsoft has issued a guide for setting up a lab testing environment for Exchange Server 2010 Service Pack 1.

The 21-page document, “Exchange Server 2010 With Service Pack 1 Test Lab Guide,” which was published in November, is designed for architects, system administrators and system engineers.

According to a Microsoft TechNet Wiki article; it explains that this test lab guide describes steps to take for setting up a “base configuration” lab environment for Exchange 2010 SP1. IT pros can build other test labs on top of the base configuration if Microsoft’s test lab guides are used in setting them up.

The article also states that, Microsoft actually offers six types of test lab guides, including those on base configuration, modular scenarios, extensions, troubleshooting, troubleshooting scenarios and portal pages.

Microsoft also offers TechNet Virtual Labs, which allows testing of preconfigured labs delivered via the Internet cloud.
But according to Joe Davies, Microsoft’s principal writer for Windows Server information experience;

we think the core value of the test labs is the hands-on experience in setting them up.

SP1 for Exchange 2010 SP1 was released by Microsoft in August. It’s a 64-bit application that can only be installed on hardware running Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2 or Windows Server 2008 R2.

Download: Test Lab Guide: Exchange Server 2010 with Service Pack 1(.doc)

You may want to check out How to deploy Exchange 2010.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve been meaning to read this and just never got a chance. Its an issue that Im really interested in. I just started reading and Im glad I did. Youre a fantastic blogger and I can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

    Reply

  2. I’m happy I found this blog, I couldnt discover any info on this subject matter prior to. I also run a site and if you want to ever serious in a little bit of guest writing for me if possible feel free to let me know, i’/m always look for people to check out my site. Please stop by and leave a comment sometime!

    Reply

  3. I know this would be better suited to an email, but do you mind if I ask what WordPress theme you’re using for this website? With the right changes (colors, banners, etc.) it would be perfect for my blog.

    Reply

  4. Just thought i would comment and say neat design, did you code it yourself? Looks great.

    Reply

  5. I was chatting with my friend on MSN about this and I’ve got to say that I completely agree with the poster near the beginning. And on a side note, I really like the colors you used for your blog. What theme is this?

    Reply

  6. I’ve been meaning to read this and just never got a chance. Its an issue that Im really interested in. I just started reading and Im glad I did. Youre a fantastic blogger and I can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

